top of page

Manitoba Liberals Nominate Candidates in Flin Flon and La Varendrye

MANITOBA – This evening, Manitoba Liberals nominated James Lindsay (Flin Flon) and Lorena Mitchell (La Varendrye) as candidates in the upcoming provincial election.

Lindsay, currently a resident of Lynn Lake, spent many years living in Flin Flon, a city he has deep roots in. Lindsay’s creativity and drive for achieving potential has allowed him to leave his mark on society as a teacher in Nelson House and Cranberry Portage before settling down in Lynn Lake in 2004. From 2012-2017, Lindsay served as the Mayor of the Town of Lynn Lake, where he was able to provide the town with key leadership at a time when the town was about to lose one of its lifelines, its airport. Lindsay put the North on the map & on Brian Pallister’s radar when he secured the renaming of Provincial Road 391 which was renamed Tom Cochrane’s Life is a Highway in honour of the Lynn-Lake born rocker.

Mitchell, a mother, entrepreneur and environmentalist, cares deeply about leaving Manitoba in a better place. Mitchell’s vision came true in 2008, when she founded her company, Evolve Green in Marchand, Manitoba, where she resides with her family. As President of Evolve Green, Mitchell delivers innovative solutions to clients that wish to reduce their carbon footprint by using alternative energy products such as solar panel systems and LED lighting. In 2018, Mitchell was recognized as a recipient of the Just Watch me! Prairie video contest, organized by the Entrepreneurs with Disabilities Program to help individuals with a disability or chronic health condition start or grow businesses in rural areas.

“I am thrilled that James and Lorena are running with the Manitoba Liberal team. These two individuals have shown leadership in their professional and advocacy work and they will be great assets to Manitobans as MLAs in a Liberal government,” said Dougald Lamont, Leader of the Manitoba Liberal Party.

- 30 - 

For more information, contact: 


Candidate List:

St. Boniface: Dougald Lamont

Tyndall Park: Cindy Lamoureux

River Heights: Jon Gerrard

McPhillips: John Cacayuran

Burrows: Sarb Gill

The Maples: Deep Brar

Notre Dame: Donovan Martin

Fort Richmond: Tanjit Nagra

St. Vital: Jeff Anderson

Fort Garry: Craig Larkins

Wolseley: Shandi Strong

Dawson Trail: Robert Rivard

Fort Rouge: Cyndy Friesen

Kildonan-River East: Kathryn Braun

Union Station: Harold Davis

Borderland: Loren Braul

Brandon-East: Kim Longstreet

Lac du Bonnet: Terry Hayward

Lagimodiere: Jake Sacher

Riel: Neil Johnston

Seine River: James Bloomfield

Waverley: Fiona Haftani

St. Johns: Eddie Calisto-Tavares

La Verendrye: Lorena Mitchell

Flin Flon: James Lindsay

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page